Non-executive Directors

  • Russell Scrimshaw was formerly an Executive Director and Deputy CEO of Fortescue Metals Group Ltd and was a member of the FMG Board from 2003 until 2011.

    Previously, Russell was a board member of Commonwealth Properties Ltd, EDS Australia, Mobilesoft Ltd, Telecom New Zealand Australia Pty Ltd, The Garvan Institute Foundation and Athletics Australia and has also held senior executive positions within the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Optus Communications Pty Ltd, Alcatel, IBM and Amdahl USA.

    In addition, he is an Associate Member of the Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants, an Adjunct Professor of Mining Economics at China Central South University in Changsha, China and a non-executive director of ASX-listed Cleveland Mining Company Limited.

    Russell was appointed as non-executive Chairman of Sirius Minerals in November 2011 and is a member of the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee.

  • Keith Clarke was Chief Executive Officer of WS Atkins plc, the UK’s largest design and Engineering Consultancy, for eight years to July 2011 and previously held CEO roles with Skanska UK and Kvaerner Construction Group. He also acted as Director of Sustainability and Chairman of Atkins’ Middle East business until April 2012.

    He is Chair of Trustees for Forum for the Future, Non-Executive Director for Engineering UK, Future Cities Catapult and the British Standards Institute, Vice President of the Institute of Civil Engineering and adviser to both Infrastructure UK and the Government of Qatar.

    Keith joined the Board in December 2013, is Chair of the Nominations Committee and is a member of the Audit Committee.

  • Louise Hardy has over 25 years’ experience in the engineering sector. She currently has a part time executive role at Skanska, Civil Engineering UK and holds non-executive director roles at Ebbsfleet Development Corporation, DCLG and Defence Infrastructure Organisation, MoD. Prior to this she was European Project Excellence Director at Aecom. 

    Previously she was a Director at Laing O’Rourke, working as Infrastructure Director within CLM, which was the consortium delivery partner for the Olympic Delivery Authority for the London 2012 Olympics. Louise is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers and a Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute.

    Louise joined the Board in May 2016 and is a member of the Remuneration Committee.

  • Noel Harwerth, whose executive background was in international banking, was formerly COO and Chief Tax Officer of Citibank International.

    Noel is a highly experienced senior independent director who has sat on a number of boards in a variety of different sectors, including mining and finance industry companies. She brings with her a wealth of background and understanding in mining, finance and governance issues.

    Noel joined the Board in July 2015 and is a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees.

  • Lord Hutton was a distinguished member of the Government for 13 years from 1997 to 2010, including 11 years as a Minister and four years serving on the Cabinet. He was appointed Chairman of the Independent Public Service Pensions Commission established by the current Government in June 2010, which delivered its final report in March 2011.

    Lord Hutton was a legal adviser to the Confederation of Business Industry in the late 1970s before becoming a senior law lecturer at Newcastle Polytechnic. In 1992 he was elected to the Barrow and Furness seat in Cumbria where he remained as MP until he stood down at the 2010 general election. During Lord Hutton's varied career in Government, he served first as a Permanent Parliamentary Secretary in the Department of Trade and Industry before becoming Leader of the House of Commons and then moving to the Department of Health in 1998 where he became Minister of State for Health in 1999, a position he held until 2005.

    In 2005 Lord Hutton was briefly appointed Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister of the Cabinet Office before being made Secretary of State for Work and Pensions. In 2007 Lord Hutton was appointed Secretary of State for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform. In 2008 he became Secretary of State for Defence until he stepped down from the Cabinet in 2009. Following the general election in 2010 he was created a life peer as Baron Hutton of Furness and now sits in the House of Lords.

    Lord Hutton joined the Board in January 2012. He is Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

  • After an academic background in Geology, Jane’s executive career was primarily in accountancy, where she became a partner at Deloitte. Her roles included Deloitte’s Midlands Practice Senior Partner and Lead Partner for the National Manufacturing Industry. As Manufacturing Industry Leader, she represented the UK on the Deloitte Global Manufacturing Industry Executive and was a member of the CBI Manufacturing Council.

    During her 35 year career with the firm, she advised multinational businesses in the construction, financial services, manufacturing and property sectors. Jane was the first woman partner in Deloitte to be appointed to the UK Board of Partners. Since 2012 Jane has served as a non-executive director on a number of publicly listed companies, including construction based companies, particularly in relation to financial governance and audit oversight.

    Jane joined the Board in July 2015, is Chair of the Audit Committee and is member of the Remuneration Committee.

Senior Management Team

  • Chris has over 20 years’ finance experience in the mining industry with a focus on financing and strategic developments.

    During his finance career he worked for Rothschild and KPMG and Citigroup, where he was Head of Metals and Mining Investment Banking for Australia in 2006 and Managing Director in 2008. Chris was the lead advisor on US$2.5bn initial development capital financing for Fortescue Metals Group Ltd.

  • Thomas has over 10 years’ experience in financing and developing resources, energy and infrastructure projects. His financing experience is across various sources of debt capital (project finance, corporate debt, high yield, export credit) and equity in multiple jurisdictions. Thomas has been responsible for the corporate governance and financial oversight of numerous project development companies.

  • Simon has a successful fast track project delivery record, from concept through to ramp-up. He has broad international senior management experience acting as a client, consultant and contractor.

    Simon was previously the Director of Development at Fortescue Metals Group and Project Director of the Solomon and Iron Bridge projects.

  • Nick has over 15 years’ experience with leading law firms and in-house for blue chip corporates. He has extensive international public and private fund raising, M&A and commercial expertise at all stages of the capital structure. Previous roles include being General Counsel of an ASX listed energy company and Regional Counsel for Diageo’s Australian, Japanese and Africa Emerging Markets businesses.

  • J.T. has 20 years’ experience in sales and business development. He has been responsible for the market development of polyhalite and the supporting global agronomy programme since he joined Sirius Minerals in 2009.

Follow us on Instagram

Follow us on Twitter